My happy holidays email-in-lieu-of-greeting-cards inspires others, and that gives me a warm fuzzy


As a consultant, I usually thank my clients for their patronage, and like everyone else, I generally do it at this time of year. For big clients, I’ve done gifts in the past. And up until this year, I’ve send greeting cards in the mail to most clients and contacts. I stopped giving gifts a few years ago, and started making a donation instead, but this year, no cards, so I gave a bigger donation. This is the email message I send to my contacts this year instead of mailing them a card:

Happy Holidays!

I’ve been weaning myself off greeting cards slowly over the past few years, but this year I decided to go cold turkey, so everyone is getting a holiday email instead.

To celebrate the season, on behalf of my clients, colleagues, friends and family, I’ve made a donation to the Downtown Eastside Neighbourhood House to help them in their goal to provide healthy whole foods to DTES residents. As you know, I have become active in food policy work, so helping people on the DTES eat healthy food is one of my priorities.

You may have also heard that recently I sold my side-business, Movies for Mommies, to an enthusiastic new owner. To celebrate that sale, I’ve donated baby food, diapers and wipes to another worthwhile organization helping Vancouver’s downtown residents, Crabtree Housing, which offers 12 supportive housing units for young women with newborns.

On behalf of me and mine, I wish you and yours a very merry holiday season. Happy belated Chanukah, Joyous Christmas and a very happy and prosperous New Year!

And this year, in response to my email, I’ve had many responses back, saying my donation inspired them to give to these or other Downtown Eastside charities. And that makes me feel very good.

Happy holidays!

One Response to My happy holidays email-in-lieu-of-greeting-cards inspires others, and that gives me a warm fuzzy

  1. […] will get back to normal and projects will start to flow. Ever since November, between the regular holidays slowdown and then the pre-Olympics slowdown, business in Vancouver has slowed significantly. Once […]

Leave a Reply

